Monday, November 30, 2009

3 Month'Versary!!



I can't believe it has been 3 months since my install. I love my Sisterlocks! *****be back for a continued update later today.

Friday, November 13, 2009

Update


I've been away for a while and am back for a quick update. I can't believe it has almost been 3 months! Time sure flies! My SLs are doing great. I had my second retightening a week ago. My consultant said that I should take more time to separate after washing because I had many locks that were marrying each other and we don't want that to happen. My front edge locks held up better this time around, since my first retightening, although there were some that did slip. This month, I am staying away from the misting with water and making sure I put a scarf on in addition to my shower cap when showering. I am just trying little things to see if they help with the slippage around the front edges as she suggested. Although, I think the major culprit is the water when washing and due to the fact that the hair in that area just isn't ready to be locked up and more resistant due to its texture. We shall see. All in all, my journey is more than I expected it to be. Carefree, easy, low maintenance, stylish and still ROCKIN'!!!! Peace, Joy & Sisterlocks Love.

Sunday, October 11, 2009

Still Rockin', Still Lockin', Still Lovin'


Okay, so what to report this week? I washed my hair yesterday, 10 days post-1st retightening. As expected, I have experienced slippage around the front edges. There is also one short lock in a small area on the left side of my head, although not noticable because it's covered by its baby sisters, where I had breakage pre-sisterlocks that slipped out as before. I thought that waiting a little longer to wash would help, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I was very gentle with my washing and just the water alone did it for them because I barely touched that area knowing how fragile they are. So as for now they look like big fat tight curls instead of locks. Although I only waited 3 days longer than usual to wash, it didn't make a difference and I'm assuming waiting longer probably won't make a difference either. Unless, I go several months of doing nothing and that isn't an option right? Lol. I am beginning to feel a little impaciente(en espanol) with the front slippage and knowing that I have to wait another 4 weeks before I can have them locked again. I am definitely feeling the need to become a DIYer! #1, so that I can relock the front edges when they come out after I wash. I'm thinking, maybe this will help train them, but not sure, considering my very soft texture in that area. Regardless, it would be nice to have the skill to relock them instead of walking around for weeks with loose hair. #2, just having the skill to DIM(do it myself) will give me the option in the event my schedule or unforeseen circumstances won't allow me to get with my consultant. On another note, I look forward to the day when I can have some hang time. It's great to be able to enjoy my length at this stage of the process, especially when I couldn't before when I was just rockin' the daily napptural puff, but as you can see, there's alot of length to my hair that's not evident right now. Patience is a virtue, blah, blah, blah. Lol. Loving the experience. Til next time, PeAcE, Joy & Sisterlocks Lovin'.

Saturday, October 3, 2009

One Month'Versary


Greetings! My first month anniversary has come and gone and I got the first "is that a wig or weave?" from someone at work this past Wednesday! I'm was happy to say that it wasn't and offer a little hairducation in that moment. I had my first follow-up and re-tightening, so my little babies around the front edges that slipped are back in lock'dom :-) The re-tightening session took 6 hours. That was nothing compared to the install, so I can't complain. Not to mention, my consultant did an excellent job. She's a perfectionist ;-)...Shout out to Syreeta L. Gambrell!!

I have been washing once a week since the start and am thinking I will go biweekly this month, just to see how things go and if the edges that are most prone to slippage hang on a little better. I've noticed that despite the fact that I colored my hair prior to the install, those little grey hairs around the front edge that I wanted to cover have already made a reappearance...sigh...and I'm not sure if they are from the same root or actually new hairs?!! I'm leaning towards new hairs because I can't imagine them breaking through the permanent color at only a month later. Makes me say huuuuum. Well, let it be and let it grow!! I will be able to color again at some point in this journey.

Til next time, peace, joy & sisterlocks love.

Sunday, September 27, 2009

Week 4



My one month'versary will be here on Wednesday! Yay!! This past week, I didn't do much to my hair but get up and go post-H20 spritz. Gotta love it! Someone in the elevator at work on Thursday said "you did something different to your hair! it's very curly". She went on to say, "what do you do, just wash and go?" :-)) I didn't bother going into the sisterlock conversation, but just smiled and replied, "Yes!" I enjoy the adoration, inquisitive minds, eagle eyes and rubberneckers who wonder "what's that, twists...extensions?" Oh, how I love thee sisterlocks :-)).

I washed my hair twice this week. I decided to purchase some small "ouchless(w/o metal)" bands. They are a little thicker than the tiny rubber bands we receive in the starter kits. The small rubber bands were just not so user friendly to me. I didn't like the hard time I had trying to pull them out of my hair after washing because they are so so tiny and whenever I did, I felt like they would snag my hair a little at the ends and make them more frizzy. Anyway, I decided to make that minor adjustment with the wider bands. Although I haven't used them yet for washing, I twisted and banded for a cardio workout and they worked GREAT. They were super easy and less time consuming to remove from my hair and no snagging!!

Yesterday, I went for a massage and had an "oh no you didn't moment" when the massage therapist started massaging my scalp unexpectedly. The quiet voice in my head was screaming "nooooo" and "don't massage too vigorously around my baby edges", LOL, and "no oil!!!". I tensed up everytime he got near the the nape of my neck. Fortunately, he wasn't using alot of oil and the times he was in my head or near my baby edges, the oil in his hands had already been absorbed in other areas prior. So, I didn't freak out and jump off the table or anything..LOL. Two things you don't mess with, MY FAMILY & MY HAIR

I had to reschedule my follow-up & first retightening session last week because I wasn't feeling well. I am over-due and looking forward to my appointment on Thursday. This head needs some work! I'm thinking every 5wks is going to be my schedule. I will see what my consultant thinks on Thursday. The area where I have experienced the most slippage is around the edges at the front(near the top) of my head. I'm looking forward to getting those babies re-locked. The spacey areas in the top are thickening!! 'Til I get tightened up...Peace, Joy & Sisterlocks Lovin'. ;-)

Saturday, September 19, 2009

Bang Love


This week I rekindled my love with the bang. I haven't worn bangs since I was a kid, lol. I performed my 3rd wash today. I decided to go all out and wash in the shower and it went well. My hair is changing so much! The dense areas in the back already are showing early signs of closing! Back to the washing...I noticed that whenever I wash, I have dry skin that comes up from my scalp and leave white specks in my hair. I feel it's because the braiding and banding doesn't allow me to rinse the dandruff that comes up from my scalp and therefore gets trapped in my hair, especially at the base of the lock in the new growth. Once I let it dry, I am able to get it all out by brushing it out with my hands. I think once I'm able to wash without braiding and banding, that problem will be resolved. If anyone else has had this issue during the start-up phase, feel free to share your tips. Peace, Joy & SL-love.

Sunday, September 13, 2009

Week 3 Begins!



Week 3 begins and looking at my week 1 shots, I'm happy to see that changes are evident! I am not sure, but I have a few in the back of my head that feel and look different in that the ends. It appears like they are trying to seal! Experienced lockers, let me know your thoughts. There is a pic of a loose end vs what appears to be a sealing end on the collage. I am definitely almost ready for my first follow-up and retightening. Today, I woke up and didn't spritz with water. I just scrunched my hair with my hands to wake it up and give a little volume. I pulled in up into a little ponytail (no pulling or tightness at all, I don't want to stress my hair and scalp one bit) on the top and called it a day. Of course, I will have my hands in my hair again before the end of the day, LOL. I think this week will be a pretty chill free-style hair week. I'll just continue to love, appreciate and nurture my babies while I continue to enjoy my freedom. Til next time, Peace, Joy & SL Love.